Life

Footprints in Sand

Sometime back I read the below poem somewhere and liked it but few months back I had experiences which when I look back now I feel the same

One night I dreamed a dream.
As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,
One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,
especially at the very lowest and saddest times,
there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.
“Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,
You’d walk with me all the way.
But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,
there was only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you
Never, ever, during your trials and testings.
When you saw only one set of footprints,
It was then that I carried you.”

About a year back for first time I traveled alone without my family that too very very far away for my job, even though this was my dream coming true but did not know that couple of experiences which would test my strength were waiting for me.

Firstly it started with somebody criticizing all the work I do and without providing proper explanation of what I am doing wrong. I was already feeling lonely and lost being away from home for first time and this person took advantage of this situation and tried to break my confidence by constantly telling me I do each and every task assigned to me wrong and pushing so many tasks on me that one person cannot complete so as to prove me incapable. Initially for few days I lost my confidence I used to feel scared if I somehow missed my bus back home and it grew dark, tears rolled down from my eyes I felt as if I don’t want anything I want to go back home.Slowly I got used to living independently and regained my confidence to some extent. But this was not end of my issues,lease of the house I was staying was about to get over only few days left and I had not found new place for myself. Suddenly one morning two days before I got a call and I came to know that I am victim of big financial fraud. I was shattered someone whom I considered a good friend and trusted very much had done this to me but I had no evidence against that person also.I could not find a home in remaining days and finally decided to temporary stay in the Hotel for few days…

On the last day when I went to book the hotel I was told that I will get a room one day later no room available today.I turned to my colleague for help and asked him to allow me in his house for one day but got a reply that “I have my family and only one bedroom and its not appropriate for a girl to stay in hall“. I was about to become homeless with no one to help. My dream of onsite had turned into nightmare …

I was constantly blamed and humiliated in office without giving any justification of where I was wrong , I was cheated financially by someone whom I trusted and considered a good friend, I was about to become homeless, all alone in foreign country with no one to help.

Suddenly the man who had rented me the home who was more of stranger to me, with whom I had argued also about cleanliness upon my request allowed me to stay in the same house for one more day. Eventhough I became victim of financial fraud I did not lose any of my hard earned money . Next day I moved to the hotel and after a few days got a new home.

I met few bad people in life who taught me a lesson of life time but I also met few good people who were nice to me. With time I gained back my confidence and not only manage my work with confidence but also could travel anywhere. Person who used to be scared to travel even half a mile distance alone arranged for a complete family trip all over USA.This would not have been possible without my faith in God who was always with me in all my difficulties.

All the above incidents and many more which occurred later reminded me of the above poem and whenever I came out of these issues I felt as if without my faith and without his support this would not have been possible………….

 

 

Leave a Reply

